, an online literary magazine devoted to short fiction.
Short Stories and the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction (named for William Faulkner, of course) has been conferring an annual national prize for the best work of fiction by an American author since 1981. From the initial prize of $1000 to Walter Abish, the PEN/Faulkner Awards have grown to become one of the major American prizes for fiction in the United States. Today, PEN/Faulkner grants $15,000 to its winner, the "first among equals," and $5000 to each of four other nominees, all of whom are selected each year by a panel of three noted fiction writers.

To date, five writers have been recognized with a first prize for collections of short stories. Most recently John Updike was named winner in 2004 for The Early Stories: 1953-1975.

PEN/Faulkner Winning Short Story Collections
1986> The Old Forest and Other Stories by Peter Hillsman Taylor
1989> Dusk and Other Stories by James Salter
1997> Women in Their Beds by Gina Berriault
2003> The Caprices by Sabina Murray
2004> The Early Stories: 1953-1975 by John Updike

read more

Short Story Collection Wins 2003 PEN/Faulkner

Short Story Collection Wins 2004 PEN Faulker


The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction (official website)


: explore collectedstories

> faq ? Copyright © 2000-2005 D. Albanese/W. Ball. All rights reserved.
> donate : ) Photos Copyright © W. Ball, unless otherwise noted.
> about Comments welcome: