collectedstories: news: Short Stories & the PEN/Malamud Award, an online literary magazine devoted to short fiction.
Richard Bausch and Nell Freudenberger
win PEN/Malamud Award

Richard Bausch, author of The Stories of Richard Bausch (HarperCollins, Nov. 2003) among many others, and Nell Freudenberger, author of Lucky Girls (Ecco, Aug. 2003), have jointly won the 2004 PEN/Malamud Award which was established by the family of the late Bernard Malamud to honor excellence in the art of the short story. The announcement was made February 2nd; prize money of $5,000 will be split between them.

The award is administered by the PEN/Faulkner Foundation, and a panel of PEN/Faulkner directors, together with representatives of Mr. Malamud's literary executors, form the selection committee for the award.

Bausch, who has been called "a master of the short story" by The New York Times, is the author of nine novels and six collections of short stories. Freudenberger has had a much shorter career, making her debut with the title story "Lucky Girls" in the New Yorker's 2001 debut fiction issue which subsequently resulted in a six-figure deal that led to the publication of a collection of five stories under the same name, all set in Asia.

return to storyteller page

The PEN/Malamud Award for Fiction (official website)

Short Stories and the PEN/Malamud Award

1988> John Updike
1989> Saul Bellow
1990> George Garrett
1991> Frederick Busch and Andre Dubus
1992> Eudora Welty
1993> Peter Taylor
1994> Grace Paley
1995> Stuart Dybek and William Maxwell
1996> Joyce Carol Oates
1997> Alice Munro
1998> John Barth
1999> T. Coraghessan Boyle
2000> Ann Beattie and Nathan Englander
2001> Sherman Alexie and Richard Ford
2002> Junot Diaz and Ursula Le Guin
2003> Barry Hannah and Maile Meloy
2004> Richard Bausch and Nell Freudenberger
: explore collectedstories

> faq ? Copyright © 2000-2004 D. Albanese/W. Ball. All rights reserved.
> donate : ) Photos Copyright © W. Ball, unless otherwise noted.
> about Comments welcome: