, an online literary magazine devoted to short fiction.
2001 Rea Award for the Short Story
Honors Alice Munro
Alice Munro
Author Alice Munro
Canadian author and short story master Alice Munro has received the 2001 Rea Award for the Short Story. The award, given annually, provides a $30,000 prize to winners. Munro has published nine collections of stories, including her most recent, The Love of a Good Woman (1998). She has also written two novels, Lives of Girls and Women (1971) and The Beggar Maid (1978), both of which utilize the form of interlocked stories revolving around a central character.

The late Michael M. Rea, a publisher and collector of art and first-edition short stories, established the Rea Award in 1986 to honor a living United States or Canadian writer who has made significant contribution to the short story form. The award, the only one of its kind (exclusively for short fiction, that is), is administered by the Dungannon Foundation, a name Rea chose as a tribute to his Irish heritage, from which he is said to have drawn his love of the short story. Since its inception, however, Rea has left the judging process for the award to the discretion of three notable literary figures. This year's jurors were writers Maureen Howard, James Salter and Edmund White.

The seventy-year-old Munro, described by The New York Times as "the only living writer in the English language to have made a major career out of short fiction alone," will have a new collection of stories published by Knopf in November 2001 entitled, Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage. Her very first collection, Dance of the Happy Shades, published in 1968, won a Governor General's Award. Since then, she has accumulated numerous awards prior to this most recent Rea Award, including a Lannan Literary Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award.

In a statement to the press on the recent selection of Munro, the Jurors said:

For many years the Canadian writer Alice Munro has astonished her readers with stories that are magical and wise. The magic is in her art as a storyteller, in her exquisitely modulated prose -- lyrical, exacting, at times comical -- which captures the lives of her characters, both women and men, attempting to understand their personal histories in the larger sweep of history. Munro's configuration of time is Chekovian, supple in its bright flashes of insight, connection; shadowed in its strokes of disappointment, separation and loss. Long honored as a master of short fiction, Munro's searching narrators often draw the reader to contemplate the devices of storytelling itself, the mysterious ways in which we distort reality, reconfigure the past to avoid or embrace revelation.

return to storyteller page
Previous Winners
of the Rea Award
for the Short Story

1986> Cynthia Ozick
1987> Robert Coover
1988> Donald Barthelme
1989> Tobias Wolff
1990> Joyce Carol Oates
1991> Paul Bowles
1992> Eudora Welty
1993> Grace Paley
1994> Tillie Olsen
1995> Richard Ford
1996> Andre Dubus
1997> Gina Berriault
1998> John Edgar Wideman
1999> Joy Williams
2000> Deborah Eisenberg
2002 Rea Award for the Short Story Honors Mavis Gallant
The Dungannon Foundation
also sponsors Rea Visiting Writers/Lecturers at the University of Virginia & Selected Shorts at Symphony Space in New York.

Books by Alice Munro
newRunaway: Stories
Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage
The Love of a Good Woman
Dance of the Happy Shades
Something I've Been Meaning to Tell You
The Beggar Maid
The Moons of Jupiter
The Progress of Love
Friend of My Youth
Open Secrets
Selected Stories

: explore collectedstories

> faq ? Copyright © 2000-2004 D. Albanese/W. Ball. All rights reserved.
> donate : ) Photos Copyright © W. Ball, unless otherwise noted.
> about Comments welcome: