, an online literary magazine devoted to short fiction.
2002 Rea Award for the Short Story
Honors Mavis Gallant
Canadian born author Mavis Gallant has received the 2002 Rea Award for the Short Story. The award, given annually, provides a $30,000 prize to winners. Gallant has penned over a hundred stories, the first of which were published in the early 1950s in The New Yorker, which continues to publish her to this day. Her stories have been celebrated with over a dozen volumes collecting her work throughout her career. In 1996 McClelland and Stewart published the 900-page now out-of-print The Selected Stories of Mavis Gallant. She has also written two novels, Green Water, Green Sky (1969) and A Fairly Good Time(1970), as well as a play, What is to be Done? (1984).

The late Michael M. Rea, a publisher and collector of art and first-edition short stories, established the Rea Award in 1986 to honor a living United States or Canadian writer who has made significant contribution to the short story form. The award, the only one of its kind (exclusively for short fiction, that is), is administered by the Dungannon Foundation, a name Rea chose as a tribute to his Irish heritage, from which he is said to have drawn his love of the short story. Since its inception, however, Rea has left the judging process for the award to the discretion of three notable literary figures. This year's jurors were writers Deborah Eisenberg, Alice Munro and Joy Williams.

Gallant, an only child born in 1922, has been described by Booklist as "a master of the short story who breaks every rule of the form." The eighty-year-old author will have a new collection of stories compiled by best-selling author Michael Ondaatje published by The New York Review of Books in November 2002 entitled, Paris Stories. Paris has long been the author's home, although she has retained her Canadian citizenship over the years. She often writes of expatriates and themes of dislocation. Her collection, Home Truths, won a Governor General's Award in 1981.

In a statement to the press on the April 2002 selection of Gallant, the Jurors said:

Mavis Gallant has shown us over and over again what a marvel a short story can be. You can start to read any one of her stories and you are at once swept away -- captivated, amazed, moved -- by the grace of her sentences, the ease of her wit, the suppleness of her narrative, the complexity and originality of her perfectly convincing characters. She is a fearless writer, apparently equal to representing on paper any aspect of mind or time, however subtle, intractable, or evanescent.

return to storyteller page
Previous Winners
of the Rea Award
for the Short Story

1986> Cynthia Ozick
1987> Robert Coover
1988> Donald Barthelme
1989> Tobias Wolff
1990> Joyce Carol Oates
1991> Paul Bowles
1992> Eudora Welty
1993> Grace Paley
1994> Tillie Olsen
1995> Richard Ford
1996> Andre Dubus
1997> Gina Berriault
1998> John Edgar Wideman
1999> Joy Williams
2000> Deborah Eisenberg
2001> Alice Munro
2001 Rea Award for the Short Story Honors Alice Munro
Read a rare interview of Gallant by Kathy Williams for Aurora Online, titled "Genesis of a Story: Mavis Gallant Describes the Creative Process behind her Award-winning Stories."

Mavis Gallant Short Story Collections
The Other Paris
My Heart is Broken
The Pegnitz Junction
The End of the World
From the Fifteenth District
Home Truths
Overhead in a Balloon
In Transit
Across the Bridge
The Moslem Wife
Paris Stories (due Nov. 2002)


: explore collectedstories

> faq ? Copyright © 2000-2004 D. Albanese/W. Ball. All rights reserved.
> donate : ) Photos Copyright © W. Ball, unless otherwise noted.
> about Comments welcome: