, an online literary magazine devoted to short fiction.
New Annual Book Award
for Short Stories Announced

On January 15, 2004, Larry Dark, well known for serving as series editor of the annual Prize Stories: The O. Henry Awards collections from 1997 to 2002, announced The Story Prize, a newly established annual book award backed by a private donor. The prize of $20,000 to an author of an original book-length work of short fiction is to be the richest annual book award in the United States. Two additional books selected as finalists will receive $1,000 awards. Collections published in 2004 will first be considered, with three finalists announced in December and a winner presented at an awards ceremony and reading in January of 2005.

Dark, director of the prize, and advisory board member Julie Lindsey will select three finalists from among books entered in the competition. Three independent judges will then choose the winner from among the finalists. In a release to the press, Dark said, “In creating this award, we want to recognize outstanding short fiction collections, which often get lost in the shuffle when considered against novels for the other annual book awards.”

The first awards ceremony for The Story Prize will be open to the public and held at Symphony Space in New York City on January 26, 2005 as part of Selected Shorts: A Celebration of the Short Story, a live reading series in which prominent stage and screen actors give voice to classic and contemporary short stories.

return to storyteller page

Entry Details:

Publishers, authors, and agents may enter books to be considered for The Story Prize by submitting an application and sending five copies of each work, accompanied by a $75 entry fee. Eligible entries must (a) be book-length works of fiction written in English, (b) contain at least two short stories or novellas by a single author, (c) include work previously unpublished in book form, and (d) be first publication of the work in the U.S. during a calendar year.

July 15
Deadline for entry of books published between January and June.

November 1
Deadline for entry of books published between July and December.

For more information, including application forms and further details about qualifications, please visit

Search Now:
In Association with
: explore collectedstories

> faq ? Copyright © 2000-2005 D. Albanese/W. Ball. All rights reserved.
> donate : ) Photos Copyright © W. Ball, unless otherwise noted.
> about Comments welcome: